2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog 
    May 20, 2024  
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Board of Directors

Sweet Briar Institute was made possible by the last will and testament of Indiana Fletcher Williams, which directed that her assets be used to create and operate a women’s college in Amherst County, Va., to be held in trust in perpetuity. Sweet Briar Institute (known and operated as Sweet Briar College) was incorporated as a non-stock corporation by an act of the General Assembly of Virginia approved Feb. 9, 1901, for the purpose of implementing the trust in the Williams will. The College has been operated continuously since that time as a private liberal arts women’s college.

Andrew C. Benjamin, B.S.
Vice Chair of the Board
Leesburg, Va.

Marianne “Mimi” Fahs ‘71, Ph.D.
Secretary of the Board
New York, N.Y.

Kelley M. Fitzpatrick ‘85, B.A.
Executive Committee Member at Large
Mountain Brook, Ala.

Carol McMurtry Fowler ‘57, B.A.
Austin, Texas

Sally Mott Freeman ‘76, B.A.
Bethesda, Md.

Bob Goodlatte, J.D.
Roanoke, Va.

Lendon Gray ‘71, B.A.
Bedford, N.Y.

Fred “Buzzy” Griffin, MBA
Houston, Texas

Karen Jackson, MBA
Executive Committee Member at Large
Poquoson, Va.

Edward J. “Ned” Kelly III, J.D.
Charlottesville, Va.

Keenan Kelsey ‘66, M.Div
Larkspur, Calif.

Gillian Munson, B.A.
Executive Committee Member at Large
New York, N.Y.

Michelle O’Neill ‘85, M.A.
Washington, D.C.

Holly Philbin ‘95, B.A.
Dallas, Texas

Mason Bennett Rummel ‘83, M.A.
Louisville, Ky.

Stephen P. Smiley, MBA
Dallas, Texas

Georgene M. Vairo ‘72, J.D.
Chair of the Board
Santa Barbara, Calif.

Claude Becker Wasserstein ‘82, B.A.
New York, N.Y.

Meredith Woo, Ph.D.
President of the College
Sweet Briar, Va.

Marshalyn Yeargin-Allsopp ‘68, M.D.
Executive Committee Member at Large
Atlanta, Ga.